Notes from Sermon on the Mount Studies

Introduction: is it “Kingdom of Heaven” or “REIGN of GOD” or “A peace that surpasses understanding?”

Isaiah explains Seven characteristics of the Reign of God
Which correspond to seven BEATITUDES
Which can be attained through the petitions of THE LORD’S PRAYER
God’s presence as Spirit or Light


Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven Fear of the Lord Temperance Hallowed be thy name Pride
Deliverance or salvation


Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted Knowledge Hope Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven Envy


Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth Piety Justice Thy kingdom come Anger


Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied Fortitude Courage Give us this day our daily bread Sloth


Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy Counsel Prudence And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us Greed
Repentance and return to God . . . or Metanoia


Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God Understanding Faith And lead us not into temptation Lust
Righteousness or Justice


Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God Wisdom Charity But deliver us from evil Gluttony
When you grow beyond where you expected, so you have grown beyond the expectations of others and they may not like it.  Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven Summary of Matthew 5

Summary of Matthew  6

Notes for Matthew 7

The Crucifix